Wednesday, January 11, 2012

An Interview with author-Kelley Armstrong

BR: Please tell our members as little bit about yourself and ONE thing (about yourself) that none of your fans would know about! There is not a lot of ‘accurate’ information about Kelley Armstrong on the web.

KA: I’m the author of the "Women of the Otherworld" paranormal suspense series and "Darkest Powers/Darkness Rising" young adult urban fantasy series, as well as the Nadia Stafford crime series. I grew up in Southwestern Ontario, where I still live with my family. I’m a former computer programmer, but I have escaped my corporate cubicle and hope never to return.

As for something about myself that my readers don’t know, by this point, that’d be really tough, mostly because I’ve had similar questions asked often enough that everything of mild interest is already out there J So I’d need to resort to the random and mundane, like “My favourite vegetable is asparagus.”

BR: You are probably asked this question, with every interview, but the answer is always of interest to our members. How and why did you become a writer? Who or what was your inspiration into the field of writing?

KA: I've been writing since childhood. I was an early reader and very quickly wanted to tell my own stories. In my twenties I started working on novels, and would sporadically send out query letters and sample chapters, but never got anything more than a form letter rejection. So I gave up and concentrated on improving. In 1999, I sold Bitten, which became my first published novel, but wasn’t my first novel.

I think what inspired me was the opportunity to tell my own stories. As a child, I started writing because I loved reading, and writing meant I could make up the stories I wanted to hear. Part of that still holds true today...although I'm no longer the only one reading them!

BR: Describe a ‘typical day’ for Kelley Armstrong. Do you have a routine that you follow? Are there specific things that you do to get the creative juices flowing?

KA: A typical writing day starts at about 5:30. I work until I get my kids up, then send them off on the bus at 7:30. I usually write most of the morning and into the early afternoon, then spend the rest of the afternoon doing business stuff. I stop when the kids return…or try to, if my schedule allows.

If I’m not travelling I do most of my writing in my office, which is comfortable, but not too comfortable. For me it has to be an efficient work environment where I can work without distractions. So it’s in the basement, where it’s quiet and there isn’t a window or anything to drag my attention out of the story.

Read the rest of the interview here